Blogging the Creative Process, continued

Mind the Gap, over at ArtsJournal, replies:

I personally thought Perron’s admonishment to knock the blogging off was a little harsh, but the seemingly always-distracted-by-blinking-technology side of me understands that she has a point.

trailerpilot replies:

The act of putting my creative process into words is immensely helpful to me as I seek to solve the problems I encounter therein. I agree wholeheartedly with both Perron and Stravinsky that the depths of some aspects ofcreation are dark, murky, inexplicable and, like dance itself, outside language. But there are many stages to dance making.

It seems like its more of a complicated questions than it would first appear.  What are your thoughts? Do you blog your process? Is it helpful? Do you see the act of blogging your process as an outreach tool or as a vital part of your creative process? Do you think the act of blogging affects the outcome of the work itself? I’d like to hear from more creative folks about the role blogging/twitter, etc etc. plays in how they make and conceive of their work.

Comments
2 Responses to “Blogging the Creative Process, continued”
  1. I have always written about my process, in fact writing is so intimately connected to dance-making for me, that I don’t know if I could make a dance without a notebook in my hand. Blogging provides a way to organize that material for myself, which I think is helpful for the work, and it allows the possibility of conversation with the audience, which interests me in particular as I work in community development through dance and interactive performance. Even if the community doesn’t talk back (although that would provide me with varied perspectives..yay!) they still have the opportunity to understand the process of creating dances better and that (unlike what Ms. Perron states in her article) has nothing to do with making dances by “how to”, but more with making the process transparent, because dance audiences need a way to enter the work. Dance is difficult for audiences in general, and if artists want to challenge themselves and the established dance world, then the work will become even more difficult. I believe in helping audiences out as much as possible in that regard.

Leave a Reply

  • Twitter Feed

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

